Questrom Key Dates for Academic Year 2016-2017

Faculty Events

Faculty Meetings are scheduled from 2:00pm – 4:00pm on the following dates in Hariri 208.

2016 2017
Friday, September 23 Friday, February 10
Friday, October 28 Friday, March 31
Friday, December 9 Friday, May 12

New Faculty Onboarding Orientation: Wednesday August 24, 2016 with two program options 2:30pm – 5:30pm and 6:00pm – 9:00pm in Hariri 410

New Faculty Welcome Luncheon: Monday, September 12, 2016 from 12:00pm-2:00pm, Hariri 426/428

Faculty Retirement and Holiday Celebration: Friday, December 9 from 4:00pm-6:00pm in the Trustees Ballroom

Faculty Retreat:  Friday, January 27, 2017 — CANCELLED

APT Review of Internal Candidates (tenure/promotion) and External Candidates (with tenure)
Friday, October 21, 2016 from 9:00am – 3:00pm, Hariri 410   (Breakfast will be served in Hariri 428)

APT Review of External Candidates (with tenure)
Friday, February 24, 2017 — CANCELLED

APT Review of Internal Candidates (tenure/promotion) and External Candidates (with tenure)– Meeting for FULL PROFESSORS ONLY
Friday, March 3, 2017 from 12:30pm – 4:30pm, Hariri 410   (Lunch will be served)

APT Review of External Candidates  (with tenure) — Meeting for ALL TENURED FACULTY
Friday, March 31, 2017 from 1:00pm – 6:00pm, Hariri 208   (Lunch will be served at 12:00pm)

APT Review of External Candidates  (with tenure) — Meeting for ALL TENURED FACULTY
Friday, May 5, 2017 from 9:00am – 1:30pm, Hariri 419   (Breakfast will be served at 8:00am)

Department Chair Meetings

Department Chair Meetings are scheduled on the following dates from 10:00am – 12:00pm in the Dean’s Conference Room

2016 2017
Friday, September 23 Friday, February 10
Friday, October 28 Friday, March 3
Friday, December 9 Friday, May 12

Boston University Academic Program Review Site Visit
Wednesday, November 9, 2016 – Friday, November 11, 2016

AACSB Re-accreditation Site Visit
Sunday, February 12, 2017 – Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Annual Merit Review Meetings
Friday, March 24, 2017 from 9:00am – 4:00pm, Room 424
Friday, March 31, 2017 from 9:00am – 12:00pm, Room 424

Annual Strategy Discussion
Friday, April 14, 2017 from 9:00am – 3:00pm, Room 424

Committee/Department/PDC Meetings

Department Meetings should occur monthly. Please contact your department coordinator for times and locations.

Undergraduate Program PDC: 4:00pm – 6:00pm on the third Thursday of each month in Hariri 114.

EMBA, MBA, HCM, FPC, PDCs and all others: Every second Thursday 4:00pm – 6:00pm. Please check with the chair of your PDC to confirm meeting dates, times and locations.

Alumni Weekend: September 29 – October 2, 2016

Thursday September 29 – Sunday October 2, 2016 Begins with Cheers with Professors Reception, 6-8pm in the Questrom School of Business Atrium, 595 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA.

Important University Dates

For the Fall 2016 semester, the first day of classes is Tuesday, September 6th. The last day of classes will be Monday, December 12.

For the Spring 2017 semester, the first day of classes is Thursday, January 19. The last day of classes will be Wednesday, May 3.

Classes will not be held on the following days (Graduate and Undergraduate):

2016 2017
Monday, October 10—Columbus Day Monday, January 16—Martin Luther King Day
Monday, February 20—President’s Day
Monday, April 17—Patriot’s Day

Monday classes will be substituted on the following days in 2016/2017:

  • Tuesday, October 11
  • Tuesday, February 21
  • Wednesday, April 19

Thanksgiving Recess begins Wednesday, November 23, 2016. Classes resume Monday, November 28, 2016.

Spring Recess begins Saturday, March 4. Classes resume Monday, March 13.

 Commencement Weekend is May 19-21.

Important Questrom Dates

Undergraduate Academic & Career Development Center

September 5, 2016 Orientation BBQ
TBA Senior Kickoff Meeting #1
TBA Senior Kickoff Meeting #2
TBA- September 2016 Student Organization Fair
October 21, 2016 Family and Friends Weekend Reception
October 22, 2016 Faculty Lecture, afternoon
TBA- October 2016 Fall Visit Day
TBA- February 2017 Concentration & Student Organizations Fair
April 8, 2017 Open House
April 15, 2017 Open House
May 19 Commencement

Graduate Academic & Career Development Center

August 30, 2016 All Graduate Student LAUNCH Barbeque
October 1, 2016 “Crack the Case”—Marc Cosentino Case Interviewing Workshop
October 6, 2016 MBA Full Time Networking Career Expo—4:00pm – 6:00pm, 4th floor
October 14, 2016 Graduate Community Golf Tournament
October 27-29, 2016 MSMF NYC Trip
November 10, 2016 MBA Internship Networking Forum—4:00pm – 6:00pm, 4th floor
November 17, 2016 Global Gobble, International Thanksgiving Event
December 16, 2016 MSMF Holiday Party
December 20, 2016 Full Time MBA 1st Year Mod 2 Celebration
January 27, 2017 Chinese New Year Celebration
February 24, 2017 Second Year Full-time MBA Event at the State Room
March 2, 2017 First Year Full Time MBA Best of the Best
April 27, 2017 MSMF End of Year Party
May 3, 2017 Mod 4 Celebration and Second Year Last Day of Class Celebration
May 12, 2017 PEMBA Graduation Party
May 18, 2017 MSMF Graduation Celebration